VIGA系统

真空感应熔炼和惰性气体雾化系统
容量从5至2500 kg

 

ALD真空技术有限公司是生产高质量金属粉末所使用的真空惰性气体雾化设备的市场和技术领导者。此外,ALD在将各种熔炼技术与惰性气体雾化系统相结合以解决特定材料要求方面具有广泛的经验。熔炼与雾化技术结合以实现特定的应用,能够生产各种各样的超清洁金属粉末,包括高温合金、贵金属、耐火材料和活性金属粉末。我们的客户可以选择两种主要的雾化器类型,即EIGA和VIGA,装料重量涵盖5公斤到2500公斤。我们提供定制的EIGA和VIGA设计变型以满足客户的具体要求。

ALD真空感应熔炼惰性气体雾化系统生产高质量球形金属粉末

真空感应熔炼和惰性气体雾化是制备各种高性能金属粉末的主要方法,对于镍基高温合金以及铁、钴、铬基和其它特殊合金粉末的高质量制造至关重要。在VIGA系统中,真空感应熔炼单元整合了一个惰性气体雾化单元。在真空或惰性气体环境下利用电磁感应将电能耦合到坩埚/材料中,使原材料熔化。一旦达到所需的熔体均质性和化学成分,就通过倾斜坩埚将材料浇注到中间包中。精炼金属流从中间包孔口流入雾化喷嘴系统并经受高压惰性气体喷射后被雾化。熔化的金属和气体射流相结合将产生微滴喷雾,这些微滴在雾化塔中凝固并形成球形的细粉末。

粉末特点

用ALD的VIGA系统生产的粉末通常具有以下特征:

  • 球形
  • 良好的流动特性
  • 颗粒大小:30 µm ≤ d50 ≤ 90 µm
  • 高纯度
  • 高流动能力
  • 低的O、N和H浓度
  • 快速凝固和均匀的显微组织

材料与金属粉末应用

VIGA系统是将各种金属元素和合金加工成金属粉末的最常用的方法。VIGA工艺生产的粉末应用重点应用于以下方面:

材料

  • Ni基高温合金
  • Fe-、Co-、Cr基合金
  • 高合金钢
  • 高纯度Cu-、Al-和Mg合金
  • MCrAlY合金
  • 贵金属及其合金

应用

  • 钎料和钎焊金属
  • 耐磨氧化防护涂层
  • 超纯活性铜及铝合金
  • 金属靶材
  • 添加剂制造技术的原料(例如:3D打印)
  • MIM和HIP的原料

服务市场

  • 航空工业
  • 电力工程
  • 电子和化学工业
  • 生物医学工程
  • 贵金属工业
  • 研发

大型VIGA系统

ALD提供大型VIGA系统,容量高达每炉2500公斤,可用于大批量生产金属粉末。ALD针对大型VIGA生产系统的设计进行了优化,以便高产量、低成本地生产高质量金属粉末。这些系统的公认特点是可靠且具有最高的设备正常运行时间,其设计实现了操作安全和方便的设备操作。例如,炉子可以在熔炼室上安装双坩埚炉门。

安装有双门熔炼炉室的大型VIGA系统

采用这种结构,每个炉门都配备有自己的真空感应熔炼站,以便快速更换坩埚和减少工艺辅助操作时间。当一个坩埚正处在生产中时,第二个坩埚可以在待机位置进行清洗或重新安装内衬,以准备用于下一次熔炼。通过这种设计,设备停机时间最小化,生产灵活性提高。该系统设计还允许针对共用的一个气体雾化系统灵活使用不同坩埚尺寸。

另一种大型VIGA系统的定制设计采用了两个中间包并安装在可移动手推车上。如果第一中间包系统的出口喷嘴堵塞,则第二预热的中间包系统移动到雾化位置以继续并完成该过程。当出口喷嘴需要清洗时,冗余的中间包系统即增加了操作安全性并最大限度降低了潜在的生产损失。

VIGA2B-EIGA双前端系统

VIGA2B-EIGA整合系统是专门为实验室使用和研发项目开发的。该系统使用VIGA2B熔炼室或EIGA熔炼室进行操作,并且更换熔炼室只需要几个小时。所有其它设备和子组件都可用于这两种操作模式,且不需要更改任何系统组件。

VIGA2B-EIGA整合系统的两种操作模式能够生产各种不同金属粉末。

客户获益

  • 先进的VIGA和EIGA炉,容量涵盖每批5 kg至2500 kg,用于生产高纯度球形金属粉末
  • 基于ALD独特的工程解决方案,利用各种定制的惰性气体雾化器设计满足广泛的市场需求
  • 通过精确控制所有关键工艺参数,获得高质量的产品、高粉末产率、可重复的产品性能和窄的粒度分布
  • 使用优化的VIGA和EIGA炉设计以经济节能的方式生产各种金属粉末
  • 凭借我们在惰性气体雾化器工程、大量现场安装和设备组装&调试综合服务方面所具备的长期专门知识,确保了无故障生产增长

我们的客户相信ALD在开发、工程和先进炉子设计方面长达150年的经验知识,选择了各种最先进的VIGA和EIGA系统生产大量的高性能金属粉末。如果您需要一个专用炉概念,ALD非常期待有机会设计和建造一个客户专用的惰性气体雾化器,以满足您的要求和应用。

更多详情,请联系:

Mr. Michael.Hohmann, Phone +49 6181 307 3309, Michael.Hohmann@ald-vt.de
Mr. Christian Lehnert, Phone + 49 6181 307 3318Christian.Lehnert@ald-vt.de
Mr. Holger Liphardt, Phone + 49 6181 307 3306, Holger.Liphardt@ald-vt.de
Mr. Dr. Qiang Wu, Phone +49 6181 307 3315Dr.Qiang.Wu@ald-vt.de

VIGA Systems

Vacuum Induction Melting Inert Gas Atomization Systems for Charge Weights from 5 up to 2500 kg

ALD Vacuum Technologies GmbH is the market and technology leader for vacuum inert gas atomizers used in the production of high-quality metal powders. In addition, ALD has extensive experience in combining various melting technologies with inert gas atomization systems to address particular material requirements. The application-specific combination of melting and atomization techniques enables production of a wide range of super-clean metal powders, including super-alloys, precious metals, refractory and reactive metal powders. Our clients can choose between two main atomizer types, namely EIGA and VIGA, for charge weights from 5 kg up to 2500 kg. Customized EIGA and VIGA design variations are available to meet customer specific requirements.

ALD’s Vacuum Induction Melting Inert Gas Atomization System for the production of high-quality, spherical metal powders

Vacuum induction melting and inert gas atomization is the leading process for production of a variety of high-performance metal powders and essential for quality manufacturing of Ni-based super-alloys as well as Fe-, Co-, Cr-based and other special alloy powders. In the VIGA system, a vacuum induction melting unit is integrated with an inert gas atomization unit. The starting materials are melted using electromagnetic induction which couples electrical power into the crucible/material under vacuum or in an inert gas atmosphere. Once the desired melt homogeneity and chemical composition have been achieved, the material is poured into a tundish by crucible tilting. The fine metal stream flowing from the tundish orifice into the atomization nozzle system is subject to a high-pressure, inert-gas jet and then atomized. The combination of molten metal and gas jet creates a spray of micro-droplets that solidifies in the atomization tower and forms fine powder with spherical shape.

Powder Characteristics

Powders produced with ALD’s VIGA systems typically have the following characteristics:

  • Spherical shape
  • Good rheological flow characteristics
  • Particle size ranging from 30 µm ≤ d50 ≤ 90 µm
  • High purity
  • High flow ability
  • Low O, N, and H concentrations
  • Rapidly solidified and homogeneous microstructure

Materials and Metal powder applications

VIGA systems are the most versatile method for processing a variety of metallic elements and alloys into metal powders. Powders produced by the VIGA process are used in numerous applications highlighted below:

Materials

  • Ni-base super-alloys
  • Fe-, Co-, Cr-base alloys
  • High alloy steels
  • High purity Cu-, Al- and Mg-alloys
  • MCrAlY alloys
  • Precious metals and their alloys

Applications

  • Solder and brazing metals
  • Wear and oxidation protection coatings
  • Ultrapure reactive copper and aluminum alloys
  • Sputtering targets
  • Feedstock for additive manufacturing technologies (e.g. 3-D printing)
  • Feedstock for MIM and HIP

Markets served

  • Aviation industry
  • Power engineering
  • Electronics and chemical industry
  • Bio-medical engineering
  • Precious metal industry
  • Research and development

Large Scale VIGA Systems

ALD offers large-scale VIGA systems with capacities up to 2500 kg per batch for high-volume production of metal powders. The ALD design for large-scale production VIGA systems is optimized for high-throughput and cost-efficient production of high-quality metal powders. The systems are known for their reliability with highest equipment uptimes and designed for operational safety and convenient equipment operation. For example, furnaces can be equipped with double crucible doors on the melting chamber.

Large-scale VIGA system equipped with double door melting furnace chamber

 

With this configuration, each furnace door is equipped with its own vacuum induction melting station for quick crucible exchange and less process overhead time. While one crucible is in production, the second crucible can be cleaned or re-lined in stand-by position, ready to use for the next melt. With this design, equipment downtime is minimized and production flexibility is improved. The system design also allows the flexibility to use different crucible sizes that share a single gas atomization system.

Another custom design for high-throughput VIGA systems uses two tundishes arranged on a movable cart. Should the outlet nozzle of the first tundish system become clogged, the second pre-heated tundish system is moved into atomization position to continue and finish the process. The redundant tundish system increases the operational safety and minimizes potential production losses whenever the outlet nozzle requires cleaning.

VIGA2B-EIGA Dual Front End System

The VIGA2B-EIGA integrated system was specifically developed for laboratory use and R&D projects. This system is operated with either a VIGA2B melting chamber or an EIGA melting chamber, and the chamber change over requires only a few hours. All other equipment and sub-assemblies are used for both operational modes without any need for system component changes.

The two operational modes of VIGA2B-EIGA integrated system enable production of a broad spectrum of different metal powders.

Customer Benefits

  • State-of-the-art VIGA and EIGA furnaces with capacities from 5 kg up to 2500 kg per batch for production of high purity, spherical metal powders
  • Broad spectrum of customized inert gas atomizer designs to meet a wide range of market requirements based on ALD unique engineering solutions
  • High quality product, high powder yields, repeatable product properties and narrow particle size distribution by precise control of all critical process parameters
  • Energy- and cost-efficient production of a wide range of metal powders using optimized VIGA and EIGA furnace designs
  • Long-term expertise in inert gas atomizer engineering, numerous field installations and comprehensive services for equipment assembly and commissioning ensure trouble-free production ramp-up

Our clients trust ALD’s 150 years’ experience and knowledge in developing, engineering and supporting advanced furnaces designs and choose from diverse state-of-the-art VIGA and EIGA systems for production of numerous high-performance metal powders. If you require a specialized furnace concept, ALD welcomes the opportunity to engineer and build a customer-specific inert gas atomizer which meets your requirements and applications.

For more details please contact

Michael.Hohmann, Fon +49 6181 307 3309, Michael.Hohmann@ald-vt.de
Christian Lehnert, Fon + 49 6181 307 3318Christian.Lehnert@ald-vt.de
Holger Liphardt, Fon + 49 6181 307 3306, Holger.Liphardt@ald-vt.de